All-round India ensure West Indies end their India tour winless

Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer added 91 runs in just 37 balls. Photo : BCCI

Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer added 91 runs in just 37 balls. Photo : BCCI

Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer were associated with a hostile organization for the fifth wicket and afterward the Indian bowlers defeated West Indies’ searing beginning and Nicholas Pooran’s battling 50 years to enlist a 17-run triumph in the third and last T20I at Eden Gardens on Sunday (February 20) to cleansweep the series.

Suryakumar (65 off 31) and Venkatesh (35* off 19) were engaged with a 91-run stand off just 37 balls to assist India with posting a sizeable 184 for 5. West Indies got off to a speedy beginning in the pursuit, and notwithstanding wickets going down, they had Pooran toward one side keeping the guests in the chase. However, Harshal Patel (3-22) and Shardul Thakur (2-33) conveyed under tension, limiting West Indies to 167 for 9 to leave them winless in the visit.

The Yadav-Iyer show at Eden

There were venturesome scoop shots, lap shots were executed easily, open-confronted cuts, long-bounces set aside over the fence and guideline trudges as well. In complete there were nine sixes and five fours scored between them as Suryakumar and Venkatesh changed the tone of India’s innings. They got together in the fourteenth over with the scorecard perusing 93 for 4 and toward the finish of the fifteenth over, India were just 98 for 4. In any case, the passing overs was a batting scene with India scoring 86, the most they have overseen in overs 16-20 in T20I cricket, outperforming the 80 they scored in the T20 World Cup game against England in 2007.

Suryakumar’s scoop off Dominic Drakes for a six and Venkatesh’s two fours through cover in the sixteenth over began the massacre. Venkatesh nailed a draw off Romario Shepherd for a six time Suryakumar struck a strong drive for a four in the seventeenth. Jason Holder also was hit for a six with Venkatesh assisting one over the fine-leg with fencing. Upwards of 21 came in the penultimate over, including four leg-byes, with Suryakumar raising a 25-ball fifty off the second bundle of the over and Venkatesh scoring two fours towards its finish. Shepherd was hit for three sixes in the last over by Suryakumar and the main comfort for the bowler was a wicket off the last ball.

Spin works for West Indies, pace doesn’t

Notwithstanding the early excusal of Ruturaj Gaikwad, who got a main edge off Holder’s outswing, India gained consistent headway through 50 years stand between Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer. Kishan, having battled in the previous games, looked somewhat better in this coordinate while Shreyas emerged with a positive outlook. Yet, both fell in progressive overs, with Roston Chase and Hayden Walsh jr. conveying the strikes. Pursue, who has been one of West Indies’ critical bowlers in this series, had efficient returns, as did Walsh. Fabian Allen also offered just five off the solitary over he bowled, with the three spinners searching for an economy of 6.5. Holder had a nice excursion with the ball, yielding just 29 runs off his four overs in spite of going for 10 off his last finished. Yet, Drakes and Shepherd went for north of 12 in their seven overs, which had a lot of effect on India’s inevitable aggregate.

Read Also : Kusal Mendis stars as Sri Lanka avoid whitewash in T20I series against Australia

India pull it back after costly powerplay

There was no Bhuvneshwar Kumar, no Yuzvendra Chahal while Deepak Chahar, who conveyed two early strikes to send back the openers, left the field subsequent to bowling 1.5 overs clutching his hamstring. The in-structure pair of Pooran and Rovman Powell capitalized on this and at the less than desirable end was Avesh Khan (on debut), going for 20 off his initial two overs, while Thakur yielded 18 off his first finished. Toward the finish of the powerplay, West Indies had hustled away to 68/2, 25 a bigger number of than what India had overseen at a similar stage.

The compromising third wicket stand, which went on for 25 conveyances and yielded 47 runs, was finished by Harshal who struck in his first finished. He put down an extreme return get however Powell tumbled off the following ball, getting a top edge and Thakur clutched a decent catch. Venkatesh struck in progressive overs to send Kieron Pollard and Jason Holder back to the cabin, guaranteeing that India didn’t miss Chahar’s presence. Harshal then, at that point, returned to get the wicket of Chase, diminishing West Indies to 100 for 6.

Pooran’s battle goes to no end

Avesh kept on spilling runs when he was brought once more into the assault, winding up with figures of 0 for 42 from his four overs. Pooran, who got a base edge off Ravi Bishnoi and was put somewhere around the ‘manager, took advantage of the miss as he managed in ordinary limits. Shepherd was clearing the fence with routineness at the opposite end, as the seventh wicket pair cut down the situation to 37 off the last three overs. Notwithstanding, West Indies’ completing capacities came a cropper once more, what began with the excusal of Pooran who got a top edge off Thakur while endeavoring a major one. Harshal packed away the wicket of Shepherd in the nineteenth over and yielded just eight, leaving West Indies requiring 23 off the last finished. They wound up well shy of that, with Thakur adding one more wicket to his count to wrap up with respectable figures regardless of a costly beginning, as India enlisted their 10th progressive triumph in the 20-over format.

Brief score : India 184/5 in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 65, Venkatesh Iyer 35*; Roston Chase 1-23) beat West Indies 167/9 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran 61, Romario Shepherd 29; Harshal Patel 3-22) by 17 runs.

Read Also : Karachi Kings end their PSL campaign with another loss

1 thought on “All-round India ensure West Indies end their India tour winless

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *