Andrew Tye stars as Western Australia win Marsh Cup title

Andrew Tye took 4-30. Image : Getty Images

Andrew Tye took 4-30. Image : Getty Images

Western Australia vindicated last year’s last misfortune to New South Wales with a 18-run win this year, bringing home the One-Day Cup championship by 18 runs at the Junction Oval in Melbourne.

Key to the success was a 10-wicket stand between Matthew Kelly and Jason Behrendorff who put on 52, a WA record for the tenth wicket in one-dayers. The battling rearguard assisted the side with putting on 225/9 subsequent to winning the throw and picking to bat got off to a harsh beginning.

Openers Josh Phillipe and D’Arcy Short were picked by Daniel Sams inside three overs and WA before long wound up reeling at 89/6. In everything, Shaun Marsh had hit 29 preceding the left-hander harmed himself while taking a run and was before long fortified by Adam Zampa. That finished his 61-run stand with Cameron Bancroft.

Jhye Richardson top-scored with 44 off 64, adding a pivotal 59 runs with Aaron Hardie (27) preceding the last wicket stand. Behrendorff hit two sixes off Hayden Kerr in the last over of the innings.

Read Also : Cheteshwar Pujara signed by Sussex for County and One-Day Cup

In the run pursue, NSW openers Daniel Hughes and Matthew Gilkes each made 20 however couldn’t continue. Hardie, contributing with the ball this time, picked the two of them. From consequently, the group continued to lose wickets as the strain of a worse than average pursue mounted as Andrew Tye and Aaron Hardie divided seven wickets among them.

Daniel Sams scored 42 off 41 and Ben Dwarshuis made 31 not out however NSW would never recuperate from the deficiency of early energy. Moises Henriques scored a stable 43 off 75 yet withdrawn to a flying catch by Hilton Cartwright in the outfield. NSW were at last wrapped up for 207 with 3.3 overs in excess.

Richardson seemed to pull up his hamstring following a conveyance and just bowled 6.4 overs. Tye was granted Player of the Match for his general commitment.

Brief scores : Western Australia 225/9 in 50 overs (Bancroft 39,Richardson 44; Zampa 3-40) beat New South Wales 207/10 in 46.3 overs (Henriques 43; Tye 4-30) by 18 runs.

Read Also : Nkrumah Bonner scores century as West Indies lead by 62 at the end of day 3 play

1 thought on “Andrew Tye stars as Western Australia win Marsh Cup title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *