Australia announces same squad from World Cup for Commonwealth Games

Australia won the 2022 World Cup without losing a single a game. Image : Getty

Australia won the 2022 World Cup without losing a single a game. Image : Getty

Meg Lanning will lead an unaltered Australia crew to the debut version of the Women’s T20 occasion at the current year’s Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

The all-vanquishing Australian group that frolicked to the 50-over World Cup title recently in New Zealand will miss just its lead trainer Matthew Mott, who as of late acknowledged a situation as England men’s white-ball mentor. Shelley Nitschke will be the break ladies’ lead trainer at the Games.

Georgia Wareham (ACL injury), Sophie Molineux and Tayla Vlaeminck (foot injury) are still on the rebound trail from their separate wounds and will miss the Games as they did the World Cup.

In the interim, headliner Ellyse Perry, who is as yet nursing a back physical issue, is probably going to play on as unadulterated hitter as she did in the World Cup last. “Her accessibility to bowl will be reliant upon her advancement before long and on the clinical counsel,” group physiotherapist Kate Beerworth said.

Australia will start their gold journey with a couple of instructional courses at the National Cricket Center in June before the crew participates in a tri-series including Ireland and Pakistan in the development to the Games which elements cricket as a discipline for just the second time after Kuala Lampur, 1998 when the men’s 50-over rendition of the game was played.

Read Also : Virat Kohli powers RCB into top 4 to keep playoff hopes alive

“To be there with competitors from badminton, squash, grass bowls and a large group of different games will be a brilliant new encounter for our players to embrace,” Lanning said.

“We’ve full grown watching the Commonwealth Games on TV, seeing Australian competitors motivate the remainder of the nation, and we’re wanting to do likewise.”

Australia, who are likewise the supreme ladies’ T20 title holders, will begin the Games as the staggering gold award top choices. They are assembled with India, Pakistan and Barbados. Bunch B highlights England, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka, with the main two groups from the pools advancing to the semi-finals.

Australia Squad for Commonwealth games 2022 : Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

Read Also : Karunaratne and Dickwella stars as Sri Lanka secures draw in 1st test against Bangladesh

1 thought on “Australia announces same squad from World Cup for Commonwealth Games

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *