BBL 2021-22 : Ian Cockbain, Siddle takes Strikers closer to BBL final

Ian Cockbain scored 65 off 38 balls. © Getty

Ian Cockbain scored 65 off 38 balls. © Getty

A 6th progressive win assisted Adelaide Strikers with making one stride more like a billet in the last of the eleventh season of the Big Bash League as they crushed Sydney Thunder by a thin six-run edge at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday (January 23). The Strikers, who have won the Eliminator and Knockout games, will confront Sydney Sixers in the Challenger at the Sydney Cricket Ground on January 26, with the victor of that conflict will take on Perth Scorchers in the last on January 28.

Ian Cockbain struck his final part century in this version, scoring a 38-ball 65 – which included six fours and three sixes – to drive the Strikers to 184 for 6. Jason Sangha (61 off 43) and Alex Ross (56 off 39) then, at that point, assist Thunder in the chase as they with placing on a 90-run association for the third wicket.

It boiled down to 14 off the last finished, with Ross getting the strike for the subsequent ball. He struck a four off Harry Conway prior to being beaten by a more slow conveyance. Conway finished off the game in the following two balls as he got Ross to top-edge to short fine prior to stowing the wicket of Ben Cutting. Just seven runs came in the last finished, including one leg bye, as Thunder missed the mark.

Read Also : South Africa beats India by 4 runs in 3rd ODI to complete whitewash

Prior, picking to bat, Matthew Short and Alex Carey gave the stage to the Strikers with their valuable commitments at the highest point of the request. Carey scored 23 while Short hit 39, with the last option placing on a 50-run remain with Cockbain. Thunder picked speedy wickets, including that of Cockbain, driving into the passing overs. For any case, Matt Renshaw and Thomas Kelly set on an energetic 31-run stand that assisted the Strikers with completing more than 180.

Alex Hales was excused right off the bat in the pursuit while Usman Khawaja’s promising stand with Sangha reached a conclusion in the seventh over as Short got the wicket of the Thunder skipper. The Sangha-Ross stand went on for almost 10 overs yet the Strikers hit back with fast wickets, leaving Thunder at 150/4 toward the finish of the seventeenth over, requiring 35 more. Conway offered 12 in the eighteenth over, including two fours by Cutting. Siddle, in spite of being hit for a four by Cutting, yielded just 9 in the penultimate over while Conway did the star turn in the last finished.

Brief scores : Adelaide Strikers 184/6 in 20 overs (Ian Cockbain 65, Matthew Short 39; Tanveer Sangha 2-15) beat Sydney Thunder 178/6 in 20 overs (Jason Sangha 61, Alex Ross 56; Harry Conway 2-33) by 6 runs

Read Also : Sri Lankan bowlers dominates as Zimbabwe suffers a huge defeat in series decider

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *