India beat Kuwait in penalty shootout to win SAFF Championships title for 9th time

On Tuesday, India won the SAFF Championships for the ninth time after they defeated Kuwait 5-4 in a penalty shootout that followed a 1-1 deadlock in 120 minutes of play in the championship match in Bengaluru. After five rounds of penalties, the score was 4-4 and the sudden death rule was put into effect. Mahesh Naorem scored the winning goal while India’s goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu saved Khaled Hajiah’s shot. Earlier, Shabaib Al Khaldi had given Kuwait the lead in the 14th minute, while Lallianzuala Chhangte equalised for India in the 39th minute. India and Kuwait had previously played a 1-1 draw in their last group match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *