Sri Lanka announces squad for T20I series against Australia; Hasaranga, Rajapaksa returns

Wanindu Hasaranga makes return to the Sri Lankan team. Image : Getty

Wanindu Hasaranga makes return to the Sri Lankan team. Image : Getty

Legspinner Wanindu Hasaranga and wicketkeeper-bat Bhanuka Rajapaksa have gotten back to Sri Lanka’s T20I crew for the impending three-match series at home against Australia, beginning June 7. Hasaranga was at first picked for the visit through India recently – their last worldwide task – however missed the T20Is due to Coronavirus, while Rajapaksa had been forgotten about because of wellness concerns.

The pair, notwithstanding, returns serious areas of strength for with exhibitions close behind. Hasaranga, who passed up the Purple Cap by only one wicket, got done with 26 scalps in a breakout IPL debut season with Royal Challengers Bangalore. He last played a T20I for Sri Lanka on their excursion Down Under in February, and picked five wickets in two trips, prior to missing the India visit.

Rajapaksa, in the mean time, replaces veteran wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal in the crew, who has been dropped following conventional profits from progressive white-ball voyages through Australia and India. He totaled just 61 runs in four T20Is in Australia prior to being dropped for the last game, and in India, he made 41 out of three innings with a best of 22. Alongside Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva and Lahiru Kumara have additionally been dropped, while the sets of Niroshan Dickwella and leggie Jeffrey Vandersay have been picked as reserve players for the series.

Read Also : Australian head coach Andrew McDonald tests positive for Covid19, stays back in Australia

Notwithstanding losing his spot in the XI upon Jonny Bairstow’s appearance, Rajapaksa gathered 209 runs in nine games he got for PBKS at a strike-rate simply a shade under 160, frequently contributing fundamental appearances at one-drop. His last appearance for Sri Lanka in the most limited design was in the 2021 Men’s T20 World Cup apparatus against West Indies in UAE, which they won against the double cross bosses by 20 runs.

Sri Lanka have chosen 19-year-old speed sensation Matheesha Pathirana, who as of late gotten high applause from MS Dhoni in the IPL. Pathirana, who dazzled at the U-19 World Cup and has a comparatively slingy bowling activity to Lasith Malinga was roped in by CSK as a trade for Adam Milne. The right-arm speedy highlighted in two apparatuses for the group, and has previously been reserved as a significant bowler for next season.

T20I squad : Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan

Read Also : Josh Philippe, Obed McCoy, Tymal Mills stars as Sussex beat Somerset

1 thought on “Sri Lanka announces squad for T20I series against Australia; Hasaranga, Rajapaksa returns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.