Sri Lanka announces their T20 World Cup Squad, picks Theekshana.

Dasun Shanaka to lead the team.

Dasun Shanaka to lead the team.

Maheesh Theekshana, who has played only one T20I, was remembered for Sri Lanka’s 15-part crew for the T20 World Cup to be held in the UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

In the mean time, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Pulina Tharanga and Binura Fernando have been downgraded to holds, while Pathum Nissanka, Ramesh Mendis and Minod Bhanuka have been forgotten about. Every one of the seven were important for Sri Lanka’s crew for the continuous restricted overs series against South Africa.

Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis and Niroshan Dickwella are serving boycotts for a break of COVID-19 conventions. Then again, Angelo Mathews isn’t a piece of Sri Lanka’s agreement list and inaccessible for determination.

Read Also : ECB ask ICC to start conclusion process on cancelled Test.

Theekshana, who bowls the carrom ball and googly close by off-turn, stowed a four-for on his ODI debut versus South Africa in Colombo. He likewise took a wicket in the solitary T20I he has played against South Africa. The 21-year-old has likewise played 23 T20s, trapping 22 scalps at a noteworthy normal of 20.86. His best figures of 2 for 9 came versus Sri Lanka Navy Sports Club in the Sri Lanka Cricket T20 competition in March this year.

Bhanuka Rajapksa and Kamindu Mendis have likewise come to the crew. Rajapaksa, the top-request batsman, has played only eight T20Is for his country, with his 48-ball 77 in Lahore versus Pakistan in 2019 being the feature of his short profession up until this point. Kamindu, who has played four T20Is, is known for his overall abilities. It just so happens, Mendis can bowl both off-turn and slow left-arm standard. Praveen Jayawickrama, who is yet to play a T20I, has likewise been chosen. The left-arm spinner, be that as it may, sacked 11 wicket in the main Test he has played against Bangladesh. He has additionally acquired five ODIs covers.

Read Also : CPL 2021 : Glenn Phillips, Kyle Mayers ensure winning end for Barbados Royals

Sri Lanka will begin their T20 World Cup crusade with a match against Namibia in Group An of the first round on October 18 in Abu Dhabi.

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrema, Lahiru Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana

Reserves: Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga

1 thought on “Sri Lanka announces their T20 World Cup Squad, picks Theekshana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *