Tilak Varma only new face in Indian T20I squad for Windies series, Bishnoi, Avesh make comeback

The Indian T20 squad, led by Hardik Pandya, has chosen Tilak Varma from Mumbai Indians as the only new addition for five T20 Internationals against the West Indies, starting August 3 in Trinidad. Experienced players Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been excluded, suggesting that they have been phased out of the shortest format of the game. The selection panel, headed by Ajit Agarkar, was drawn to the Hyderabad left-hander due to his high strike-rate of 142-plus in 47 games. Although Rinku Singh was not selected, it was due to the absence of an available slot in the middle-order, with Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Sanju Samson also present. Avesh Khan and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi have returned to the international arena. The 15-member squad consists of three wrist spinners, comprising of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal alongside. Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (vc), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar make up the

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *