Tour De France: Jasper Philipsen emerges from crashes to win

Belgian cyclist Jasper Philipsen achieved his second consecutive Tour de France stage victory amidst a flurry of crashes in the final circuit today. Australian Caleb Ewan took second place and German Phil Bauhaus third, while British cyclist Adam Yates retained the yellow jersey of overall leader.

The peloton had been riding at a slow pace for most of the 182 km ride from Dax, but things got tense near the Paul Armagnac racing track, which once belonged to Tour champion Luis Ocana of Spain. About 1.5 km from the finish line, European champion Fabio Jakobsen came crashing down on a right-hand bend, shocked by the unexpected turns. Six riders fell within the last kilometer, but Philipsen was unstoppable.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *